The St. George Museum and Archives is located in the St. George Memorial Hall building. Originally built in 1891, the building has seen much of St. George’s history, containing at different times a radio station, a library, and a post office. About a century after its building, it was turned into a Museum by St. George/South Dumfries Trade and Tourism Association in the 1990s.
However, in the early 2000s, this body disbanded, and to preserve the museum, a group of citizens got together to form the South Dumfries Historical Society (SDHS). The society holds various events and fundraisers, including ‘Chilli Chow Down,’ a Remembrance Day Service, and ‘New Year’s Brunch and Levee.’ Join in and experience what it means to be a local in St. George!